Update and something embarrassing

Weighed myself this morning: 301.8 lbs

So I’m up again, but I’m not sweating it. I enjoyed myself over the holidays and I don’t regret it, I would rather have an extra 3 pounds to lose than not let myself indulge in things like eggnog, gingerbread etc. that I don’t normally have. It’s all good.

Now, for the embarrassing thing.

I used to frequent Denny’s at night A LOT. I went through a period of unemployment and in that time, I got up later in the morning and I wouldn’t usually eat until late afternoon, by which time I was starving. (Terrible habit, I know.) SO, because of that, I would be too full to eat supper at the normal time, so I would get really hungry late at night. I didn’t really want to dirty a bunch of dishes by cooking at that late hour, so I would often take my favourite book and head to Denny’s.

After I got a job and had to stick to a schedule, I stopped going. However, I recently left my job because I am moving to another city (in another country!) so until I go, the only schedule I have to stick to is my packing one, which I determine myself. Last night I was out at a friend’s until late and when I left her place I was starving. I had a book with me, so I pulled into trusty old Denny’s for something to eat. (I know I shouldn’t have, as Denny’s is literally one of the least healthy places to eat on the planet, but sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.)

I went in and the waitress said “Well hello there, haven’t seen you in awhile!” and showed me to my table etc. etc. At the end of the night, she gave me my bill and I noticed that she hadn’t charged me for my Coke. When I mentioned this to her, she said “Oh, I know. You’re a regular, I never charge regulars for drinks.”

Maybe embarrassing is too strong a word, but it certainly made me think about my life choices. She doesn’t know me outside of Denny’s, nor does she know my name, but she knows me by sight well enough that she can recognize me after months of being away. And she considers me to have frequented Denny’s enough, despite not having set foot in the place for months, to deserve a free drink for my good business.

I’m thinking I should stop going there…

3 thoughts on “Update and something embarrassing

  1. Hi, thank-you for sharing. I understand the “just one bite” thing. I am starting a “cold turkey” approach because I have tried nearly everything else in the books of diet. I am going to challange myself. To loose weight is also my New Years resolution. Enough is enough.
    It would be great if you check out my page – I just started up my blog yesterday and would like to find some cool people to share thoughts, advice and tips with! πŸ˜€

    • I did check out your page, awesome! We can definitely encourage each other.

      Best of luck to you on your journey! Cold turkey is very difficult though; I quit smoking cold turkey 4 years ago and even now when I smell a cigarette I get cravings. But it will pay off in the end.

      • That’s amazing, good job for quitting. Thanks for your support. I just posted my second blog πŸ™‚ very excited.

        I know it’ll be hard. I decided to do it because I feel saying no to all very unhealthy food will stop me from having a little- which then turns into more, and more. Hopefully I will succeed!

Leave a Reply

