Changes So Far

I thought I would do a post about the changes that I have noticed in my life since I have started exercising and eating healthier. It has only been (almost) 3 weeks, so the changes aren’t huge, but even small, noticeable changes are encouraging! 

1) I can breathe! For most of my life, I have been plagued with chronic allergic rhinitis. Basically, that means that the tissue in my nose and sinuses is chronically swollen due to allergens in the air (ie animal dander, pollen, dust, mold etc.) and that most of the time, I can only breathe through one nostril. On the worst days, I sometimes can’t even breathe through my nose at all. I do have medication, but the side effects can be unpleasant (dry mouth, headaches), so it’s not the best. 

Much to my surprise, exercising every day has allowed me to breathe. It’s really quite amazing to be able to breathe without feeling like I’m not getting enough air. I didn’t expect this, so it’s been an amazing bonus! 

2) My skin is getting better. I have never really had bad skin, per se, but I am very fair, so any blemishes that I have had leave red marks that linger afterwards for, literally, years. I don’t know whether it’s the eating healthier or the extra water I’m drinking or the exercise (although probably, it’s all three) but astonishingly, many of those red marks have faded in just the few weeks I’ve been on this path. 

3) I am stronger and fitter. It has only been 3 weeks, so it’s not like I’m going to be running a marathon anytime soon, but I am finding that my treadmill routine is getting just a little bit easier to do every week, which is so exciting. I also find that certain weight-training exercises (such as planks, which I HATE) are getting easier. I am doing the Beginner #1 strength-training routine from “The Biggest Loser Fitness Program” book and I am also finding it easier each week, so fairly soon I will have to switch to the next routine. (There are 9 in all.) 

4) I mentioned this in my last blog post, but my pants appear to be looser than normal, even with a belt, which is exciting! Huzzah for losing inches! 

Exciting stuff!

4 thoughts on “Changes So Far

  1. That is so awesome!! I know it can be hard to notice the small changes for me and so I get discouraged, but your post reminds me that I will get to a point where I can look back and see the difference. I need to keep pushing forward! =)

    • Exactly! Just try to find the positive things that happen, even if they’re just little, like eating breakfast every day (seriously a huge thing for me) or going outside for 30 minutes etc. I find that I am much happier when I look for the positive. Acknowledge the negative and learn from it, but don’t dwell on it!

Leave a Reply

