Progress Update – as of January 22, 2014

Height: 5’7″
Current Weight: 294.0 lbs
Loss:  1.4 lbs
Current BMI: 46.0
Loss: 0.3

So this week, I lost 1.4 lbs for a total loss so far of 7.8 lbs since January 1st. Although I am wishing that my last couple of weeks had yielded a bigger loss than just 1.5 lbs, I think that 7.8 lbs in 3 weeks is pretty good. It doesn’t sound like much, but it’s an average of 2.6 lbs a week. In a year, that’s 135.2 lbs!

Normally, during the week, I exercise on my treadmill for 30 minutes every day. This past week, I tried to go for an hour. Man, I overestimated my fitness level! My 30 minute workout is getting easier, but an hour of fast walking (and some jogging) is just too much for me right now. I thought I was going to pass out near the end, and after I finished I needed to use my inhaler (I have asthma), something I haven’t done in months. So clearly, I pushed myself a little bit too hard. Baby steps!

Also, part of the hour treadmill program includes a little jogging, and I could feel my butt jiggle when I did it. It was simultaneously funny and horrifying.

What I Did Really Well This Week:

1) Once again, I exercised every day. I find myself almost addicted to exercise now. I don’t always love how I feel when I’m doing it (like when I’m cursing under my breath while doing planks) but I love how it makes me feel and when I’ve showered after a great workout and I’m climbing into bed (I usually work out at night) I just feel so fresh and clean and healthy. It’s a great feeling.

2) I’m still keeping really good track of my eating and exercising. That has been a struggle for me in the past, so I’m happy that I’ve been able to keep that up.

What I Can Improve On:

1) Eating better is something that I am constantly striving for. I didn’t do that well this past week with getting more fruit and veggies in, nor with eating breakfast, so that’s something. This week I am going to try the Simply Filling plan from Weight Watchers. There are foods that are considered “Power Foods” by Weight Watchers: low-fat dairy, fruits, vegetables, lean protein and certain carbs like whole wheat pasta, brown rice, quinoa etc. On the normal Points Plus plan, you are assigned a certain number of points based on your age, weight, height etc. Each food has a Points Plus value and portion size is very important in tracking, as the PP value depends on the serving size. The Simply Filling plan is different. It’s a plan where you don’t have to count points, so long as you only eat Power Foods. The idea is that you eat when you’re hungry, as much as you need to feel satisfied, as long as they’re good choices. On both plans, you also get 49 weekly points to use however you like and you earn points for exercise, which can be used towards food or not used at all.

Anyway, my goal is to be on the Simply Filling plan this week. Then I can make sure that I’m making healthy choices. I am staying within my points value every day, but I’m not always necessarily using my points on the best things. I mean, you can eat 1200 calories worth of jelly beans a day and lose weight because of the calorie deficit, but you’re not exactly going to be healthy.

2) I need to get more sleep. I did better last week than the week before, but there is still so much room for improvement.

How I Feel:

Proud and happy. I admit, when I weighed myself this morning I was frustrated at only a 1.4 lb loss. With how hard I’ve been working out, I figured the number ought to read more like a 14 lb loss. But, when I reflect, 7.8 lbs in 3 weeks is pretty darn good.

There is also a part of me that is really anxious to see a difference too. I know that I’m doing well, but I haven’t really been able to see a difference in my body yet, so I’m getting antsy! But I know it will come, in time. I just have to be patient. Unfortunately, patience has never been my strong suit. I guess that’s another thing I’ll learn on this journey!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Progress Update – as of January 22, 2014

Leave a Reply

