Progress Update – as of February 19, 2014 – The Uphill Battle…

Height: 5’7″
Current Weight: 294.6 lbs
Gain: 2.0 lbs
Current BMI: 46.1
Gain: 0.3

So this week, I gained. Again. And to be honest, I am getting really frustrated. I am trying hard to think positive, but it’s really annoying to see the scale go up and down so much. (Although I’m not going to quit, don’t worry about that!)

I am mostly frustrated because there doesn’t seem to be anything I can do about it. I got sick again this week, so doing exercise is really difficult for me because it hurts to breathe very soon after I start. I have read in multiple places that 90% of weight loss is eating well and that you can lose weight without exercise if you adjust your diet, but apparently my body needs both exercise and eating well in order to lose weight.

I want to exercise. I do. It feels weird to not have done a true workout routine for so long, but my lungs can’t handle it yet. It’s infuriating. Any suggestions about alternative workouts that I can do that won’t aggravate them? I walk with my dogs for 20 minutes every day, at least twice a day, so that’s something I guess. But anything more strenuous than that leaves me gasping for air and in pain, so I’m hoping to find something to replace running until I can fully recover. Swimming, maybe? Anyway…

What I Did Really Well This Week:

1) I think I did a great job with eating well and I’m irritated that the scale doesn’t appear to reflect that. I know that you cannot map your progress exclusively by the scale, but it’s discouraging to see it go up and down and up again.

2) I did very well at tracking again this week, which is great so me. Tracking is the best thing for me to ensure I monitor my portions and don’t overindulge.

3) I also did pretty well at eating Power Foods this week. Power Foods, on Weight Watchers, are low-fat dairy products, fruits, vegetables, lean protein and whole grains. Basically, the healthiest foods you can eat are Power Foods and I did really well eating a lot of those this week.

What I Can Improve On:

1) Exercising. I hope that I can find an alternative to running until I fully recover, so that I can at least get back into some sort of routine.

How I Feel:

Frustrated. I pretty much covered it earlier, I’m just frustrated that I’m going up and down and frustrated that I can’t exercise to try to offset it. Maybe this week will be better.

2 thoughts on “Progress Update – as of February 19, 2014 – The Uphill Battle…

  1. Hi, don’t get discouraged. It happens, our bodies go through so much. I am asthmatic and am getting worse with time. I am doing the “Walk away the pounds” DVDs which I call my old ladies workout but it is the only ones I am able to complete. They are very basic low impact walking exercises but boy do I sweat? I also like that there are no floor exercises which I loathe. For me they work give them a try you can watch them in YouTube before you buy any. Greetings!

Leave a Reply

