Progress Update – as of February 26, 2014

Height: 5’7″
Current Weight: 293.7 lbs
Loss: 0.9 lbs
Current BMI: 46.0
Loss: 0.1

This week, we are back on the losing side again, albeit not much. To be honest, I have not been concentrating my efforts over the last two weeks. I am leaving for New Zealand in a week and a half (about which I say AHHHH!!!) and my stress level has been off the charts. Part of that stress is because of what I need to do before I go, but most of it is because I was frantically attempting to finish a correspondence course that I stupidly signed up for. (I did learn a lot, but it was a foreign language – Spanish – and it is VERY difficult to learn a foreign language on your own, just using a textbook and some videos.) It wouldn’t normally have been a big deal, but it is for credit at a university, so doing poorly or failing would mean that it reflects on my transcripts. As a result, MEGA STRESS.

I did try as hard as I could to make good choices this week in terms of eating well, but exercise once again fell by the wayside (not helped by the fact that I still have a cough). But it’s a new week and while I still have much to do before I leave, I am feeling much much better.

What I Did Really Well This Week:

1) Once again, I did a great job of tracking everything that I ate. I am glad that this is a habit now, as it keeps me aware of what I am eating and how much.

2) I am doing well at eating well and at making good choices and watching my portions, which is good.

What I Can Improve On:

1) Exercise, obviously. I need to get back into a routine otherwise I won’t be able to drop the weight, I know I won’t. Eating well is good and all, but I have discovered that for me I really need to have exercise in my routine for my weight loss. Not to mention that it’s good for cardiovascular health and fitness. So anyway, we need to get into that.

2) Sleep. Sleep is crucial. This week, due to my stress, I did not sleep very well at all (or much) and I feel the difference. When I am exhausted, I also find it much harder to make good choices. It is so easy to want to just gorge on mac and cheese and ice cream when you are tired and cranky, so adequate sleep is something I need to ensure I get in order to remain healthy.

How I Feel:

I am feeling pretty good, actually. The slow loss in February has been frustrating, but I know that it’s because I didn’t give it my best effort. However, I am optimistic now that my stress level is back to normal (well, relatively) and I am getting very excited for my upcoming trip (I will be gone until Christmas!). New Zealanders are a very active people and their country has relatively mild weather, so I am looking forward to spending a lot time outside biking and hiking. After all, what better way to experience a new country than to stroll in nature, right?

Cheers and happy March!

Leave a Reply

