Progress Update – as of August 2, 2014

Height: 5’7″
Current Weight: 292.2
Gain: 1.9 lbs
Current BMI: 45.8
Gain: 0.3

I almost put “current height”. As if my height fluctuates these days. Haha.

I have also switched my weigh-in day to Saturday, as that is now the day that I attend my Weight Watchers meetings. (Didn’t I say it would change?) It might change again, but for now Saturday is easier for me with my work schedule.

I gained again this week. BUT I think it’s possible that it’s water retention. I have significantly increased my exercise in the past couple of weeks and this past week I was noticing that I felt really dizzy a lot of the time, even when I was sitting down. It seems to have gone away (but of course I’ll watch it to ensure it isn’t a symptom of something more sinister) but I think that I probably wasn’t increasing my water intake to match my exercise. And, as you probably all know, not drinking water can actually cause you to “gain” weight – or at least the number on the scale increases – because your body holds onto the water you do have to try and retain it.

I am hoping that’s what it is. However, I need to get better control of my eating. Exercise has never been a problem for me. I mean, I definitely haven’t done it regularly since I was a kid (excepting the last few months, of course) but I’ve never been someone who hates sports and exercise. I love to dance, swim, bike, rollerblade, horseback ride, run, ski, skate, and play soccer, basketball, volleyball, teenis etc. However, because I have lost flexibility and am carrying more weight, I have found that doing some of these activities (particularly those involving jumping) put a lot more pressure on my joints than they used to and, as a result, I am very prone to injury. (For example, in the past 10 years I have  sprained both ankles several times each, sprained my wrist, crushed my meniscus [a little disk in your knee], sprained toes and broken off a piece of my ankle bone (twice!). Gross.)

So, long story short, I love exercise. But my main problem is, and always has been, eating. I find that when I exercise I sometimes give myself too much of a free pass with my eating. For example, I’ll think “Oh, I can have this donut because I went for a bike ride today”. And while I strongly believe that it’s important to indulge once in awhile, I give myself too much freedom to indulge and thus, fall into a “one step forward, two steps back” kind of pattern. So, I’ve got the exercise thing down (and I’m really enjoying myself!) but it’s time to really focus on the eating.

What I Did Well This Week:
1) Well, I have been exercising almost every day. I used to go about exercise quite the wrong way. I would do the same routine every single day and I think half the reason that I would often fall off that wagon is because I got bored. This time around, I am trying new things. I have been swimming a lot lately, something I love, and I have been riding my bike, something I haven’t done in ages. (Although, to be honest, it is getting a little uncomfortable. I tend to carry the majority of my weight in my mid-section and I actually have a really bony butt for being a big gal, so riding for too long gets a bit uncomfortable!) I dusted off my old rollerblades (although I haven’t used them yet, oops) and I got myself a pair of walking poles so that I can do Nordic walking (similar to cross-country skiing, but walking, but you use the poles to push yourself along and walk your arms). In short, I am enjoying the summer weather immensely (it’s going by far too quickly!!!) and exercising as much as possible outside, enjoying the fresh air.

What I Can Improve On:
1) Eating better, as I said previously, is my main priority. I just need to make smarter choices and to allow myself to indulge less than I’m doing now. I’m trying to cut back on sugar in general, since I eat way too much of it, but I’m finding it very, very difficult. That stuff is addictive. However, one little bit at a time and I will get there.
2) I also need to get more sleep. I average about 6 hours a night. For some people that is probably plenty, but for me it’s just not. I feel really tired a lot of time and the fact that my job is basically completely sedentary doesn’t help my fatigue. The big thing for me is to turn off the screens. I don’t really watch TV (uh, well, except Netflix) but I am a sucker for the internet (Buzzfeed articles, anyone? Addictive.) and so I spend far too much time on here, often at the expense of my sleep. So I’m trying to cut down on my screen time, especially before bed, and do something else like read a book.

How I Feel:
Positive, in general. I am discouraged about the numbers on the scale, but at least I know where it’s coming from, it’s not as though I’ve been perfect and am not seeing any progress. I know that I am making really good steps with my exercise and I know where I have to go from here.

Cheers, happy losing!

(Also, I have just finished Breaking Bad [oh man, so good] and now I’ve moved onto Orange is the New Black and I’m obsessed. Anyone else?)

4 thoughts on “Progress Update – as of August 2, 2014

  1. You are making great strides (pun about your walking intended), and I predict that soon the weight will start to head downward. Keep up the great work! You can and will do this.

  2. I think that the sleeping part of the equation can’t be overstated. If you’re starting the day tired, then your metabolism isn’t getting into gear. Try it out and see if that helps you, which I think it will. Keep it going!!!

Leave a Reply

