Progress Update – as of November 1, 2015

Height: 5’7″
Current Weight: 298.4 lbs
Loss: 2.7
Current BMI: 46.7
Loss: 0.5

We are back on track, baby! I have gone back on Weight Watchers. I don’t love their system – I think they make fat and carbs out to be the enemy, when it’s really not that simple – BUT I feel like it’s the most flexible system for me. I tried counting calories, but I felt so restricted. I know that it is not realistic to expect me to never eat sugar or fast food or junk food for the rest of my life. Yes, I know that I should stay away from those foods in general – as should we all – but I need to lose weight in a way that I can enjoy those things from time to time, otherwise it’s just not going to work.

I thought I did very well this week. I did not exercise, as I got a terrible cold, but I tracked religiously and made good choices when possible. I got a lot of sleep too, which was great.

What I Did Well This Week:
1) Tracking, as I said. I was very careful to write down everything I ate and track the points for it. It really puts into perspective healthy choices and portion sizes. For example, a package of peanut M & Ms is more points than an entire can of tuna. I like both of them, but the M & Ms have zero nutritional payoff, whereas the tuna has lots of protein and healthy fats that will keep me full longer. Obviously, there will be times when I pick the M & Ms and that’s okay, but it makes you think about what kind of choices I make throughout the day.

What I Can Improve On:
1) Exercise. Obviously, because I was sick I wasn’t exercising but I had kind of fallen off the wagon over the last three weeks and I’d like to get back into a routine.
2) Sleep! I got sleep this week because of illness, but obviously that’s an anomaly. I need to make more of an effort to go to bed earlier and get a better, more consistent rest.

How I Feel:
I am feeling relatively positive about this, but I’ve had a lot of trouble with my anxiety this week, I don’t really know why. It’s really frustrating, it makes it hard to be motivated to do anything. I am trying though, one day at a time!

Cheers, happy losing!

One thought on “Progress Update – as of November 1, 2015

  1. Love this!!! I really believe what you said about carbs, fat, being realistic so you can stick with this is key. Too many people get themselves on strict “diets” that they can’t live with for very long. You are definitely on the right track! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

