Bad News and a Challenge

So, yesterday, something very unfortunate happened: I broke my ankle.

It’s not a bad break, it’s just a tiny little fracture, so I don’t require a big cast or surgery or anything like that, but it’s still enough to derail me a little bit. I have been instructed to wear a brace 24/7 and to stay off it as much as possible.

The first thing I thought when I found out was “oh crap, how am I going to work out?” but after thinking about it, there is still stuff that I can do. I am not able to do the treadmill, the elliptical or any kind of weight-bearing activity, really, BUT I can still do core and upper-body exercises and lower-body exercises like leg lifts, glute bridges and maybe lunges if I am very careful. As for cardio – swimming! I will have to be careful not to do any vigorous kicking or anything like that, and of course if it really starts to hurt I will ease off, but it’s a great full-body workout that I can do without putting any weight on my ankle.

I am hoping it heals quickly and heals well, but I will not let this be an excuse!

Cheers!

8 thoughts on “Bad News and a Challenge

  1. Feel better! I had that happen to me when I was younger. I ended up quitting gymnastics because I was afraid of it happening again.

Leave a Reply

